Reproductive Rights (via Musings of a (Recovering) Strong Black Woman’s Weblog)

Last week I had a pretty intense conversation on Christians and birth control with my best friend Carla. We have differing views. This talk brought to mind this post I wrote April 2009, particularly the line that “economic or emotional reasons … may not be cause to use birth control ….” As I am still pondering and reconsidering under what circumstances that economic or emotional reasons may not be cause to use birth control, I ask you to think about that and give me your feedback.

The age old argument for abortion goes: “I’m not in favor of abortion for me, but I believe women should have a choice to decide what they want to do with their own bodies.” I used to think that, too. In my teens and early 20s, I was vocal about it and placed money on it, giving $200 to help fund a friend’s late term abortion. An age old argument for birth control methods goes: “I don’t want to get pregnant so I’m going to take birth control pill … Read More

via Musings of a (Recovering) Strong Black Woman's Weblog

2 responses to “Reproductive Rights (via Musings of a (Recovering) Strong Black Woman’s Weblog)

  1. Lisa Johnson

    I believe that we as believers have to get before God with the question. I believe that God will provide for us in every situtation. I know I never went without food,clothing or shelter. My mom had 13 children 1 deceased. We were poor. God will provide for us & he has provided for us. I know I have lived & spoken as if God isn’t capable of that. I believe that if God wants us to have children we will rather we are taking birth control or not. That he is in control of us & not the other way around. It’s interesting that it’s called birth control when God is our Creator. I will have this discussion with my mom & sisters & let you know how the discussion went.

  2. musingsofastrongblackwoman

    Thanks for weighing in on this one, Lisa. God assures us that he will take care of all our needs. I look forward to hearing how your discussion with your mom and sisters went.

Leave a comment