Inconvenient Children (via Musings of a (Recovering) Strong Black Woman’s Weblog)

Yesterday Nathaniel, my 2-year-old, asked me 20 times in rapid succession for grapes. I’m not exaggerating because I decided to count as I was in the process of getting them for him. I could only laugh at his little demanding self. I laugh to keep from being overwhelmed, even as I’m on my way to another of his doctor’s appointments. The little bugger’s allergic to so much. With all the demands of motherhood, I remembered this post and know that it is a privilege to be a mom.

Some months ago my friend Renee was telling me that I must watch "La Vie en Rose," the tragic biopic of French chanteuse Edith Piaf. She went on describe that this heartwrenching tale would grip my soul and make me want to pity and rescue Edith from the brothel, street and circus (literally and figuratively) life she lived throughout her life. I watched the movie this morning. Shuffled from parent to parent and place to place for convenience sake … Read More

via Musings of a (Recovering) Strong Black Woman's Weblog

Leave a comment